Archive | December 2013

Books December 2013

December books:

1. A Song of Stone – Iain Banks

I liked this 250-page novel better when it was an 8-page short story by JG Ballard.

After some undisclosed catastrophe causes the collapse of civilization an aristocrat and his sister-lover find themselves involved in a psychological game of cat and mouse with a Lieutenant and her rag-tag force of irregulars. Sophistry, nihilism, and an over-arching unreliable and unlikable narrator all make an appearance.

2. Hild – Nicola Griffith

I loved this book.

Fans of George R.R. Martin, Robert Graves in I, Claudius mode, and Mary Renault should all check this out. It’s the 7th Century, England is a cluster of squabbling kingdoms, and Hild’s the child of a slain king, her whole life enmeshed in a web of courtly intrigue, spun by her mother, and picked up and tended to by Hild as a way to keep those she loves safe. Griffith does a great job making you feel the tension and pain of someone who sees all the ways the world ties together.

3. The Spy Who Came In From the Cold – John Le Carre

Cold War espionage – when filing paperwork meant the difference between life and death! Seriously. So much of this novel revolves around who saw a file folder where and when, that, having worked in enough offices, I have to laugh. To Le Carre’s credit he makes it a riveting read the whole while, but still, file folders. The plot revolves around file folders. Genius.

4. Thursbitch – Alan Garner

A somewhat stunning read that makes me wonder if a book can be simultaneously lean and dense. The themes are reminiscent of Algernon Blackwood being not quite horror so much as awe and wonder at the world, but the prose is utterly stripped down and sparse. To be honest I had to stop a third of the way into the book and restart it in order to catch hold of what was going on. Definitely recommended.

5. Nightshade and Damnations – Gerard Kersh

A collection of short stories from the 1940s and 1950s, somewhat pulpy, but it’s a testament to Kersh’s style and POV that he has aged better than most. I’d heard Kersh’s name for a while now and knew his work from Jules Dassin’s “Night & the City” before I knew who he was. I definitely recommend this book.

6. Orlando – Virginia Woolf

A classic genre novel about a gender-bending immortal trying to find love while attempting to write a novel, the set pieces (the frozen river, the 17th century travelogue, the damp of the 19th century) worked more for me than the English lit fan-service.

Advertisements

Adjusting Downward

Goodreads has a 5-star rating system. I find it pointless to give a book a less than 3-star rating. If you don’t like the book that much, why keep reading it? (Although I did give 1-star in a fit of pique to a SF novel a few years back, likely because acquaintances raved about it.)

If a book gets 3-stars that’s my way of saying it was okay, and I liked it enough to finish it. 4-stars mean I liked it enough to recommend. 5-stars mean it was great, and I hope to reread it some day.

But over Christmas I just finished reading Iain Banks’ A Song of Stone. It was so unenjoyable, but he’s a writer I like so much that I couldn’t drop the book.

So now 2-stars means this book stinks but I finished it out of brand loyalty.

Happy Holidays

skeletor affirmationHappy Holidays to you no matter who you are, where you are, or whether or not you even do anything to celebrate, and a Happy New Year too, while I’m at it.

Carts and Horses

I’ve got these students, smart kids, but you ask them a question and they can’t answer it. Not because they don’t know the answer, but because they don’t think the question is the question. They think the question is a trick, a distraction, from another unasked question. And what they’re trying to figure out is the answer to that question.

Maybe you don’t do the same. I know I certainly do.

Someone asks you a question and you respond to some other, imagined question. Not what was asked, but what you imagined was asked. And sure, some people are Machiavellian assholes all too eager to trap people and get them all mixed up. And yeah, some of these people are teachers, and they’ll boast about how clever they are and stupid/gullible their students are. But those folks are something else entirely. Very rarely is life like some deathtrap dungeon of spiked pits and pendulum scythes (at least it hasn’t been so far). Instead life is rather straightforward. Better to answer the question asked than respond to the one from the imaginary conversation going on inside your head.

The Books

Stuff read this year, not including single short stories or stuff read for grad school. I do feel like I’m not reading widely enough, which I know is probably an insane conclusion, but yeah.

In other news Pohang got some light snow. This meant, since it’s somewhat southish, the city was in panic mode because they don’t have sand trucks or plows or anything to deal with half an inch of snow apparently.

 

Desert Solitaire: A Season in the Wilderness – Edward Abbey

Elisha Barber – E. C. Ambrose

War Fever – J.G. Ballard

The Face in the Frost – John Bellairs

The Queen, The Cambion, and Seven Other – Richard Bowes

Mindplayers – Pat Cadigan

My Antonia – Willa Cather

Dagon – Fred Chappell

Engine Summer – John Crowley

Scattered Among Strange Worlds – Aliette De Bodard

Status Anxiety – Alain De Botton

Babel-17/Empire Star – Samuel R. Delany

The Enemy Within: A Short History of Witch-hunting – John Demos

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz

The Mapmaker’s War – Ronlyn Domingue

The Voyage of the Short Serpent – Bernard du Boucheron

The Werewolf of Paris – Guy Endore

American Gods – Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

Lois the Witch and Other Stories – Elizabeth Gaskell

Red Shift – Alan Garner

Thursbitch – Alan Garner

Trafalgar – Angelica Gorodischer

Ammonite – Nicola Griffith

Twenty Fragments of a Ravenous Youth – Xiaolu Guo

Available Dark – Elizabeth Hand

Empty Space: A Haunting – M. John Harrison

Cogan’s Trade – George V. Higgins

The Digger’s Game – George V. Higgins

Poets in a Landscape – Gilbert Highet

Fremder – Russell Hoban

Linger Awhile – Russell Hoban

Turtle Diary – Russell Hoban

Sword of Fire and Sea (Chaos Knight Book #1) – Erin Hoffman

The Discovery of Witches – Matthew Hopkins

In A Lonely Place – Dorothy B. Hughes

Rapture (The Bel Dame Apocrypha #3) – Kameron Hurley

Infidel (The Bel Dame Apocrypha #2) – Kameron Hurley

An Artist of the Floating World – Kazou Ishiguro

Fair Play – Tove Jansson

Nobody Move – Denis Johnson

The Desert of Souls – Howard Andrew Jones

How To Make Friends With Demons – Graham Joyce

Storm of Steel – Ernst Junger

At Amberleaf Fair – Phyllis Ann Karr

Nightshade and Damnations – Gerard Kersh

The Secret Commonwealth of Elves, Fauns, and Fairies – Robert Kirk

Fury – Henry Kuttner

The Spy Who Came In From the Cold – John Le Carre

The Best of All Possible Worlds – Karen Lord

In The Enclosure – Barry N. Malzberg

Bullettime – Nick Mamatas

Love is the Law – Nick Mamatas

Last Dragon – J.M. McDermott

Hong Kong – Jan Morris

Memory – Linda Nagata

Snitch World – Jim Nisbet

Who Fears Death – Nnedi Okorafor

The Company – K.J. Parker

Temporary Agency – Rachel Pollack

The Dog of the South – Charles Portis

The Glorious Ones – Francine Prose

Indoctrinaire – Christopher Priest

The Record of a Quaker Conscience – Cyrus Pringle

A House in Naples – Peter Rabe

Yellow Black Radio Broke-Down – Ishmael Reed

The Black Count – Tom Reiss

Your Brain At Work – David Rock

A Stranger in Olondria – Sofia Samatar

The Trouble with Testosterone and other essays on the biology of the Human Predicament – Robert Sapolsky

The Witches of Karres – James H. Schmitz

The Status Civilization – Robert Sheckley

The Slave – Isaac Bashevis Singer

A Pretty Mouth – Molly Tanzer

Alchemy and Alchemists – C.J.S. Thompson

Finch – Jeff VanderMeer

Meet Me in the Moon Room – Ray Vukcevich

God Save the Mark – Donald E. Westlake

The Passion – Jeanette Winterson

The Fifth Head of Cerberus – Gene Wolfe

Nightside the Long Sun – Gene Wolfe

Orlando – Virginia Woolf

Dirty Weekend – Helen Zahavi

End of the Year

I’ve read a few of these End of the Year posts now and they’re all starting to resemble: “I had a great year, three dozen stories published, my collection came out and got translated into 800 languages, and two agents fought a duel over which of them got to accept me as a client…”

Mine resembles: “I wrote a lot but only finished five stories, got nearly three dozen rejection letters, and failed to write a new novel.”

And when I say resemble, I mean that’s it. That’s my end of the year update.

Five stories written. Three dozen rejection letters. An unfinished novel.

But you have to take the bad with the good. You can’t hide under a rock simply because you’ve had a shit year. I could pull my output apart some. Two of the stories are what I’m calling “promising failures”, pointing me towards better stories. Not better drafts of these same stories, but better new stories.

I had one story published, Last Rites For A Vagabond. I like that story quite a bit and am pleased with it in so much as one can be pleased with these things. It’s bitter-sweet, discordant, and has a nice random sketches feel to it. If you listen closely you can hear it expiring quietly from neglect. But so it goes. Some folks might wish they had even my level of success. Shit, complete strangers left comments on the story and appeared to like it, so no complaints.

The novel on the other hand…

I am finding novel writing to be like this Bill Nye clip describing how scientists plan on determining the nature of Jupiter’s core. Of course, I’ve launched myself into this story somewhat blindly, and as I write I find I keep “wobbling” each time I encounter pockets of dark matter AKA plot holes. This is probably because I’m making my life difficult by trying to write a secondary world fantasy that doesn’t involve too many “the rogues crept from shadow to shadow” type sentences. So that’s where the writing goes and will continue to go for the near future.